Need help with a Wood Stove

Here's the place you can post your favorite wood burning stove and also information on how to build and where to get supplies.
jbutzi

Need help with a Wood Stove

Postby jbutzi » Tue Jan 24, 2012 4:12 pm

Hi All,
This is a first post so a little background is in order...I am new to the stove making fascination as of a few months ago. I have researched a lot online and really like what you and others have done here. Hats off to you Zelph and others. Love your designs and ingenuity :DBfire: .

I have made a number of alcohol stoves and recently made modified versions of the stove Nikos showed and got it to burn nicely and boil water efficiently in six minutes with a 35 second bloom. No record, but nice stove idea Nikos. Well I have also been playing with wood stoves and wanted to do something very simple with one can. The problem is I am not getting a very good burn out of it and wonder if you have suggestions. I started with a single 14 oz. can. I have 14 - 1/4" holes down one inch from the top, and 14 more 1/2 inch from the bottom. I used a church key to slice into the bottom to make four legs to get the stove off the ground and get in more air. At the top five of the hole were made with partial incisions of the church key to bend metal to the inside as supports for the hardware cloth pot stand. The stand is 4/5ths of a circle and sits inside the can on the bent supports down a little over one square. This leaves just less than 4 squares out of the can - 2 inches. It weighs 2 oz altogether. I built a fire from top down with very dry wood with pieces the size of a pencil and bigger to 5/8" diam max. It burned nicely at 30 degrees F but did not boil the water. It steamed the water after about 6-7 minutes but never went much beyond.