Stove Windscreen Material

Always good to have some helpful tips when making stove.
Where to get materials cheap, what tool is best.
How to do a specific task. Anything that will help.
zelph

Stove Windscreen Material

Postby zelph » Mon Sep 03, 2007 3:51 pm

Aluminum screen door replacement fabric is good for making a wind screen for your stove.

It can be bought by the foot at most of your local hardware stores.

Determine how long a piece you need by how high you want it. Add an additional 1 inch to your dimensions so you can fold over the edges by 1/2 inch all around the piece to make for a smooth edge. Fold it to the inside of the windscreen.

http://www.woodgaz-stove.com/

walkin wally

Re: Stove Windscreen Material

Postby walkin wally » Thu Nov 08, 2007 8:28 pm

Just curious as I hope to thru hike the AT in March 2010..

I'm new to these lightweight stove Systems.

What kind of stove would you suggest for this set up? Is an unacceptable amount of heat lost through the screen versus a piece of roof flashing? Would you use this set up on the southern AT in March?

Thanks
WW

zelph

Postby zelph » Thu Nov 08, 2007 11:00 pm

walkin wally wrote:Just curious as I hope to thru hike the AT in March 2010..

I'm new to these lightweight stove Systems.

What kind of stove would you suggest for this set up? Is an unacceptable amount of heat lost through the screen versus a piece of roof flashing? Would you use this set up on the southern AT in March?

Thanks
WW