You know you're an ultraliter when . . .

Backpacking is more than just about gear. Here's a forum to talk about the "philosophy" of lightweight backpacking.
ImageImage
shakeylegs

You know you're an ultraliter when . . .

Postby shakeylegs » Sat Jul 13, 2013 1:14 am

This topic opens the door for endless "one-liners" (which I welcome) but in between, tell us when you knew you had transformed into an ultralite backpacker. My first sign was easy. I've been an avid photographer for a long while. There was a time I would carry 10 to 15 lbs of camera gear on high sierra trips. And these were not dedicated photo trips. On one non-photo trip I realized I was spending more time thinking about potential imagery than simply experiencing the beautiful surroundings. I felt like the camera was getting in the way of my experience. Next trip I took no cameras and I experienced a revelation of sorts. I "saw" thngs I'd never bothered to see before. Heard things I'd never heard before. And the emotional impact was powerful. I never felt more at peace in the mountains than on that trip. From then on I started paring away anything that got in the way of enjoying the journey. And that conveniently lightened my pack by a considerable margin. Not only was I enjoying my trips more, but my knees were much happier as well. I'll still carry a camera if my goal is to make images and I'll carry a "big rig" kitchen if glutony is tops on the trip list. I'll even toss in a paperback once in a while on long trips. But by and large, I pare away the dangling participles and enjoy the freedom of the wilderness.

zelph

Re: You know you're an ultraliter when . . .

Postby zelph » Sat Jul 13, 2013 10:49 am