Rivendell Mountain Works

Post it here if it's "Made In America"
heckdog

Rivendell Mountain Works

Postby heckdog » Sun Aug 17, 2008 9:38 pm

http://rivendellmountainworks.com/

Talks about a cottage industry with a ton of history. Anyone have an original Jensen pack laying around they would like to unload :mrgreen: ? Any experiences with these or similar "retro" lightweight packs?

zelph

Re: Rivendell Mountain Works

Postby zelph » Mon Aug 18, 2008 4:52 pm

I have no experience with them but it was sure interesting to read about the company. I'll keep an eye open for one of their products as I gaze through the net and thrift stores. Thanks for bringing this cottage industry to our attention. Rivendell Mountain works, it's good for me to type it out :D stick in my brain alittle better, I need all the help I can get :lol:
http://www.woodgaz-stove.com/

heckdog

Postby heckdog » Mon Aug 18, 2008 8:41 pm

Yea I am currently using a medium Gregory G-Pack. The Grand Canyon is my main stomping ground. The terrain, animals and plant life is all unforgiving on pack material. I just hate having to baby my pack material. Rivendell packs are bench tested bomber and the medium is 405 c.i. bigger and 9oz lighter than the G-pack. Anyone looking for a very babied G-Pack in excellent shape????? :shock: :shock:

zelph

Postby zelph » Mon Aug 18, 2008 9:56 pm

and the medium is 405 c.i. bigger and 9oz lighter than the G-pack

That's a major difference, nice. Christmas is not far away :)

How is the Condor population doing in the canyon? I was there the first year they introduced them. Majestic bird they are.

justmeagain

Postby justmeagain » Thu Aug 28, 2008 2:29 pm